CofC Logo


J. E. Simcox Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1981  by family and friends in memory of Janet E. Simcox, Class of 1978.  The purpose of this fund is to provide assistance for students in the Fine Arts, with preference given to the visual arts.  Scholarship awarded to a rising senior.  (Credited to student's account for Fall semester).  Not renewable.

Rick Watkins Memorial Scholarship

Established by Joanne and Fred Watkins of Knoxville, Tennessee in memory of their son Rick Watkins.  The Rick Watkins Endowed Memorial Scholarship celebrates Rick's commitment to teaching and his ability to nurture and inspire the artistic talents of his young students at Garrett Academy and North Charleston High School. Recipient will be allowed to hold the scholarship for a total of four academic years provided she/he is enrolled as a full time student and continues to meet the academic standards established by the scholarship committee.  Amount of scholarship may vary based on the determination of the Foundation board.

  • Student demonstrates a financial need
  • Majoring in Studio Art with a minimum GPA of 3.0
  • Preference given to minority students from the North Charleston area
  • Enrolled as a full-time student earning a minimum of 24 credit hours during the academic year, excluding Maymester and summer school.

Barbara Duval Endowed Scholarship 

Established in 2004 by Peyton Cochran Class of 2004 in recognition of the assistance given to Peyton Cochran   by Studio Art Professor Barbara Duval. This scholarship is restricted and designed to support the retention of the most talented students in the Studio Art Department. These students will be identified by the recommendation of the Faculty and Chair of the Studio Art Department. Students must maintain fulltime status and 3.0 overall GPA. The scholarship is renewable up to 3 years.