CofC Logo


J. E. Simcox Memorial Scholarship

Established in 1981  by family and friends in memory of Janet E. Simcox, Class of 1978.  The purpose of this fund is to provide assistance for students in the Fine Arts, with preference given to the visual arts.  Scholarship awarded to a rising senior.  (Credited to student's account for Fall semester).  Not renewable.

Rick Watkins Memorial Scholarship

Established by Joanne and Fred Watkins of Knoxville, Tennessee in memory of their son Rick Watkins.  The Rick Watkins Endowed Memorial Scholarship celebrates Rick's commitment to teaching and his ability to nurture and inspire the artistic talents of his young students at Garrett Academy and North Charleston High School. Recipient will be allowed to hold the scholarship for a total of four academic years provided she/he is enrolled as a full time student and continues to meet the academic standards established by the scholarship committee.  Amount of scholarship may vary based on the determination of the Foundation board.

  • Student demonstrates a financial need
  • Majoring in Studio Art with a minimum GPA of 3.0
  • Preference given to minority students from the North Charleston area
  • Enrolled as a full-time student earning a minimum of 24 credit hours during the academic year, excluding Maymester and summer school.

Goss-Duval Endowed Scholarship Endowment

The purpose of this endowment is to establish a scholarship for the areas of Studio Art and Theatre.  The Goss-Duval scholarship is restricted and designed to support the School of the Arts goal for the recruitment and retention of the most talented students in the areas of Studio Art and Theatre.  These students will be identified through an application/audition process and recommended by the Chairs of each of the aforementioned departments.  The ability to offer a Goss-Duval Scholarship will rotate between the departments of Studio Art and Theatre on a yearly basis, thus offering each area to have the opportunity to name a Goss-Duval Scholar every other year.  The schedule for the scholarships will be as follows:  Theatre will recommend for academic year 2011-2012 and Studio Art will recommend for academic year 2012-2013.  Barring no additional changes, this schedule will remain throughout the lifetime of the endowment.  Students must maintain a full-time status and a 3.0 grade point average.  The scholarship is renewable for up to three years.